Gandhi Institute of Engineering & Technology ( GIET- AUTONOMOUS ) - GUNUPUR
'A' Grade Accredited by NAAC & Highest Quality Accreditation by NBA
GIET logo

Anti Ragging

Ragging is a Criminal Offence                  AICTE PUBLIC NOTICE

Anti-Ragging Initiatives

Ragging is totally prohibited in the campus or hostels. Anyone found guilty of ragging and / or abetting ragging whether actively or passively, or being a part of conspiracy to promote ragging, is liable to be punished in accordance with UGC Regulations 2009 as well as under the provisions of any penal law for the time being in force.

In view of the directions of the Hon'ble Supreme Court in SLP No. 24295 of 2006 dated 16-05-2007 and in Civil Appeal number 887 of 2009, dated 08-05-2009 to prohibit, prevent and eliminate the scourge of ragging All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and University Grants Commission (UGC) bring forth appropriate Regulations.


What's Ragging?

As per Regulations on curbing the menace of Ragging in Higher Educational Institutions, 2009, Ragging constitutes one or more of any of following acts:


  • Any conduct by any student whether by words spoken or written or by act which has the effect of teasing, treating or handling with rudeness a fresher or any other student
  • Indulging in rowdy or indiscipline activities by any student which causes or is likely to cause annoyance, hardship, physical or psychological harm or to raise fear or apprehension thereof in any fresher or any other student.
  • Asking any student to do any act which he/she will not in the ordinary course do and which has the effect of causing or generating a sense of shame, or torment or embarrassment so as to adversely affect the physique or psyche of such fresher or any other student.
  • Any act by senior student that prevents, disrupts or disturbs the regular academic activity of any other student or a fresher
  • Exploiting the service of a fresher or any other student for completing the academic tasks assigned to an individual or a group of students.
  • Any act of financial extortion or forceful expenditure burden put on a fresher or any other student by students.
  • Any act of physical abuse including all variants of it: sexual abuse, homosexual assaults, stripping, forcing obscene and lewd acts/ gestures, causing bodily harm or any other danger to health or person.
  • Any act or abuse by spoken words, email, post, public insults which would also include deriving perverted pleasure, vicarious or sadistic thrill from activity or passively participating in the discomfiture to fresher or any other student.
  • Any act that affects the mental health and self- confidence of a fresher or any other student with or without an intent to derive a sadistic pleasure or showing off power, authority or superiority by a student over any fresher or any other student.




In the event of ragging any one or more of the following punishments may be given:


  • Suspension from attending classes and academic privileges.
  • Withholding/withdrawing scholarship/fellowship and other benefits.
  • Debarring from appearing in any test/examination or other evaluation process.
  • Withholding results.
  • Debarring from representing the University/Institution in any regional, national or international meet, tournament, youth festival etc.
  • Suspension/Expulsion from the hostel.
  • Cancellation of admission.
  • Rustication from the Institution for period ranging from one to four semesters.
  • Expulsion from the Institution and consequent debarring from admission to any other institution for a specified period.


Provided that where the persons committing or abetting the act of ragging are not identified, the institution shall resort to collective punishment.

Apart from inviting any disciplinary action, the erring student may also be subjected to face any legal action as prescribed under the UGC Regulations/by the Concerned Authority.
GIET, Gunupur ensures that a congenial and welcoming environment is given to the fresher.


Anti-Ragging Committee

All the students of the Institute are hereby informed that an Anti-Ragging Committee is constituted as in Annexure-I, II & III. Students are required to report to the committee members, in case of any related issues under the ragging activities.



Phone No
1. Prof. D. Prasada Rao Principal -- 7381052100 Convener
2. Prof. S.P. Chaudhuri Dean (Academics) Mech. 7735745540 Co-convener
3. Prof. Y. K. Mohanty Vice Principal Chem. 7735745501 Co-convener
4. Prof. N. V. J. Rao Dean Administration Admin Block 9437044170 Member
5. Prof. T.Ch. Behera HOD BSH 9438656790 Member
6. Prof. K. S. Sastry HOD AE&IE 9040723169 Member
7. Prof. R. R. Sabat HOD EEE 9437693905 Member
8. Prof. Manoj Das HOD Biotech 9437771065 Member
9. Prof. P. B. Mishra HOD CSE/IT 9439271311 Member
10. Prof. A. K. Samal HOD Civil 8093186822 Member
11. Prof. S. Pradhan HOD ECE 9437640423 Member



Roll No
1 Santanu Behera Member CHEMICAL 11CHE011 Member
2 Abhishek Dubey Member EEE 010EEE065 Member
3 Dipun Kumar Guin Member EE 010EE014 Member
4 Bedanta Lath Member META. 11MET015 Member
5 Mohan Agarwal Member Bio. Tech 11BT002 Member
6 Mani Kishore Swain Member Civil 11CV012 Member
7 Ropya Ranjan Bhag Member ECE 010ECE118 Member
8 Bandana Dora Member MECHANICAL 010ME073 Member
9 Gunja Kumari Member IT 010IT002 Member
10 Ankur Mishra Member CSE 11CSE001 Member
11 Sachin Kumar Sahu Member MECHANICAL 13ME100 Member
12 SwagatikaRath Member CSE 13CSE062 Member


(Location Wise)

S. NO.
1 RUKMINI AREA Rukmini, Raseswari Dr. Prangyaban Mishra (IT) Convenor
Mr. Ajit Senapati-(MECH.) Member
Mr. Bishnu Prasad Mohapatro (BSH) Member
Mr. Siba Prasad Patra (IT) Member
Mr. R. K. Padhi (CHEM.) Member
2 NEW BUS STAND Gayatri, Krupasindhu, JJ, JP, SatyaSai& Venkateswara Dr. P. K. Talapatra (MECH.) Convener
Mr. Neela Madhab Padhi (IT) Member
Ms. Sanjukta Das (BSH) Member
Mr. Ram Chandra Padhi (BSH) Member
Ms. Prajna P. Bhunya (EEE) Member
Ms. Anima Pattnaik-(MECH.) Member
Mr. K. Babu Rao (ECE) Member
3 Balram Nagar JK, SS-1, SS-2   BPM Mr. Asish Samal (Civil) Convener
Dr. Biplab Rath (BSH) Member
Dr. Sadananda Sahoo-(MBA) Member
Mr. R. K. Panda-(PET) Member
Mr. Kali Rath-(MECH.) Member
Ms. Bandana Mallick-(ECE) Member
Ms. Sankha Mitra Sunani (ECE) Member
Mr. S. S. Sastry-(AE&IE) Member
Mr. Balram Das-(EEE) Member
4 Campus Hostels NC 7 & 8 Mr. Biswajit Karan (ECE) Convener
Mr. Ami Kumar Parida (ECE) Member
Mr. Subhrajit Pradhan-(ECE) Member
Mr. Bibhu Prasad-(AE&IE) Member
Mr. Radhanath Patra-(ECE) Member
Mr. Jagan Bihari Padhi -(ECE) Member
Mr. Srikanta Mishra-(EEE) Member
Mr. Rakesh Sahoo-(EE) Member
Mr. J.M. Rao-(AE & IE) Member
Mr. Debasish Pattnaik-(BSH) Member
Mr. Dilip Patnaik-(BSH) Member
Mr. Debashis Mohapatra (MBA) Member
Mr. Amit Pattnaik (BSH) Member
Mr. Bijaya Mishra (MECH.) Member
Mr. Manoj Sahoo (ECE) Member
Mr. T. Appa Rao (EE) Member
Mr. Bimalendu Das (Civil) Member



S. NO.
1 Mr. B. P. G. Mahapatra BSH Convener 9439660593
2 Mr. Bijaya Mishra MECH. Member 9437492437
3 Mr. Bimalendu Das CIVIL Member 9438106241
4 Mr. Ami Parida ECE Member 9861413759
5 Mr. Govind Rao MET. Member 9668454424
6 Mr. P. S Rath ECE Member 8093909303
7 Mr. AshisTiwari AE & I Member 8260155869
8 Ms. P. P. Bhuyan EEE/ EE Member 9439396915
9 Mr. Santosh Pradhan MCA Member 9437722012
10 Mrs. Suprita Pradhan MBA Member 9861288835
11 Mr. Sunil Kumar BIOTECH Member 9437771055
12 Mrs. Tapas Dora CHEM. Member 9438725976
13 Mr. N.M. Padhy IT Member 9438725976